Wednesday, April 29, 2009

2009 Clarke Award Nominees

Location: Sci-Fi London at the Apollo Piccadilly Circus in London, United Kingdom.

Comments: I've said this before, but the 2009 slate of Clarke Award nominees will make me say it again: The volume of excellent science fiction being produced in recent years has simply been overwhelming. On this ballot I am partial to Neal Stephenson's book Anathem, but that's mostly because I like Stephenson's work. Being perfectly honest, all of the books on this list would have been worthy winners of the award, and probably would have been shoo-in's to win if they had been nominated in earlier decades.

Song of Time by Ian R. MacLeod

Anathem by Neal Stephenson
House of Suns by Alastair Reynolds
The Margarets by Sheri S. Tepper
Martin Martin's on the Other Side by Mark Wernham
The Quiet War by Paul J. McAuley

What Are the Arthur C. Clarke Awards?

Go to previous year's nominees: 2008
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 2010

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment