Sunday, July 18, 2010

2010 Campbell Award Nominees

Location: Campbell Conference Awards Banquet at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas.

Comments: In 2010, two women made it to the finalist list for the Campbell Awards. Nancy Kress, an author with a long and impressive career writing thought-provoking science fiction, was nominated for her novel Steal Across the Sky. And Margaret Atwood, an author with an impressive writing career but who also continues to yelp that she doesn't write science fiction even when she clearly has, was nominated for her novel The Year of the Flood. Even though the female representation on this ballot is paltry, I kind of wish that the Campbell Award judges had given Atwood her wish and not nominated her novel, perhaps replacing her book with a work by one of the many female authors who are proud to be science fiction novelists. As long as Atwood insists that she doesn't write science fiction, and as long as she looks down her nose at the genre, there is simply no reason to bother honoring her for her work with genre awards rather than honoring people who enjoy and respect science fiction.

Best Novel

The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi

Second Place:
Julian Comstock: A Story of 22nd-Century America by Robert Charles Wilson

Third Place:
The City & the City by China Miéville

The Caryatids by Bruce Sterling
Galileo's Dream by Kim Stanley Robinson
Gardens of the Sun by Paul J. McAuley
Makers by Cory Doctorow
Steal Across the Sky by Nancy Kress
Transition by Iain M. Banks
WWW: Wake by Robert J. Sawyer
The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood
Yellow Blue Tibia by Adam Roberts

Go to previous year's nominees: 2009
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 2011

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment