Sunday, October 15, 1978

1978 World Fantasy Award Nominees

Location: World Fantasy Convention, Fort Worth, Texas.

Comments: Four years in, and the lack of recognition for women was getting to be a little bit ridiculous. Thirty-four nominations. One woman nominated. Sort of. Judy-Lynn del Rey was nominated as half of a nominated team along with her husband Lester del Rey. Over the first four years of the World Fantasy Award, there were only three nominations for women - and two of those nominations were shared with a male partner. To the modern eye this not only appears to be ridiculously sexist, but it is also surprising, as fantasy fiction has now come to be associated with large numbers of female authors. But when the World Fantasy Award was created, it is obvious that fantasy fiction was an almost entirely male preserve. Unfortunately, the World Fantasy Award, by failing to recognize any of the handful of excellent contributions to the genre made by women, seems to have helped compound this gender disparity.

Best Novel

Our Lady of Darkness by Fritz Leiber

Other Nominees:
The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever by Stephen R. Donaldson
The Hour of the Oxrun Dead by Charles L. Grant

Best Short Fiction

The Chimney by Ramsey Campbell

Other Nominees:
The Bagful of Dreams by Jack Vance
Jeffty Is Five by Harlan Ellison
Loveman's Comeback by Ramsey Campbell
Manatee Gal Ain't You Coming Out Tonight by Avram Davidson
When All the Children Call My Name by Charles L. Grant

Best Anthology or Collection

Murgunstrumm and Others by Hugh B. Cave

Other Nominees:
Cold Chills by Robert Bloch
Swords and Ice Magic by Fritz Leiber
Whispers edited by Stuart David Schiff
The Year's Best Horror Stories: Series V edited by Gerald W. Page

Lifetime Achievement

Frank Belknap Long

Other Nominees:
Jorge Luis Borges
John Collier
Roald Dahl
Richard Matheson
Manly Wade Wellman

Best Artist

Lee Brown Coye

Other Nominees:
Stephen Fabian
Tim Kirk
Michael Whelan

Special Award, Professional

Everett F. Bleiler

Other Nominees:
Judy-Lynn del Rey and Lester del Rey
Edward L. Ferman
Donald A. Wollheim

Special Award, Non-Professional

Robert Weinberg

Other Nominees:
Jonathan Bacon
W. Paul Ganley
Stephen Jones
Gary Hoppenstand
Harry O. Morris, Jr.

Special Convention Award

Kirby McCauley

Other Nominees:

Go to previous year's nominees: 1977
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1979

Book Award Reviews     Home