Wednesday, August 28, 2002

2002 Mythopoeic Award Nominees

Location: Mythcon XXXIII in Boulder, Colorado.

Comments: 2002 is the first year for which we have actual data concerning the actual location and date for the Mythopoeic Awards. It seems almost unbelievable that this sort of information was simply not preserved for all of the previous years, but the simple fact is that until very recently most organizations handing out genre awards seem to have been exceptionally poor at keeping records, at least until the pervasiveness of the internet made such sloppiness almost impossible to get away with. The result is that so much information about many genre awards, even awards that have always been controlled by a single organization like the Mythopoeic Society, has simply been lost in the mists of time, and will likely never be recovered.

Best Adult Fantasy Literature

The Curse of Chalion by Lois McMaster Bujold

Other Nominees:
American Gods by Neil Gaiman
Declare by Tim Powers
Ill Met by Moonlight by Sarah A. Hoyt
The Other Wind by Ursula K. Le Guin

Best Children's Fantasy Literature

The Ropemaker by Peter Dickinson

Other Nominees:
Island of the Aunts by Eva Ibbotson
The Two Princess of Bamarre by Gail Carson Levine
The Wizard's Dilemma by Diane Duane

Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

Tolkien's Legendarium: Essays on The History of Middle-Earth edited by Verlyn Flieger and Carl F. Hostetter

Other Nominees:
C.S. Lewis, Poet: The Legacy of His Poetic Impulse by Don W. King
J.R.R. Tolkien and His Literary Resonances edited by George Makana Clark and Daniel Timmons
Women Among the Inklings: Gender, C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, and Charles Williams by Candice Fredrick and Sam McBride

Myth and Fantasy Studies

The Owl, the Raven & the Dove: The Religious Meaning of the Grimms' Magic Fairy Tales by G. Ronald Murphy

Other Nominees:
Fairytale in the Ancient World by Graham Anderson
The Quest for the Grail: Arthurian Legend in British Art 1840-1920 by Christine Poulson
Twice Upon a Time: Women Writers and the History of the Fairy Tale by Elizabeth Wanning Harries

Go to previous year's nominees: 2001
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 2003

Book Award Reviews     Home