Friday, August 30, 1996

1946 Retro Hugo Award Finalists (awarded in 1996)

Location: L.A.Con III in Anaheim, California.

Comments: The "1946" Hugo Award ballot was actually composed and voted on in 1996, using the "Retrospective Hugo" voting rules. Under these rules a Worldcon held 50, 75, or 100 years after a Worldcon in which no Hugo Awards were handed out may choose to hand out Hugo Awards to works and individuals who would have been eligible in that year using the same rules as those used for regular Hugo Awards. Consequently, even though this round of awards has not handed out until 1996, the works represented in this list are currently the oldest works to have been honored with Hugo Awards.

The "Retro Hugos" are somewhat controversial, as there are questions about the validity of making assessments of the quality of a work fifty or more years after the fact. One has to wonder, for example, if voters actually thought The Mule was the best novel of 1946, or if they were actually honoring the Foundation series that it represented.

Best Novel

The Mule by Isaac Asimov

Other Finalists:
Destiny Times Three by Fritz Leiber
Red Sun of Danger (aka Danger Planet) by Brett Sterling
That Hideous Strength by C. S. Lewis
The World of Null-A by A.E. van Vogt

Best Novella

Animal Farm by George Orwell

Other Finalists:
Dead Hand by Isaac Asimov
Giant Killer by A. Bertram Chandler
I Remember Lemuria by Richard S. Shaver

Best Novelette


Other Finalists:
Into Thy Hands by Lester del Rey
The Mixed Men by A.E. van Vogt
Pi in the Sky by Fredric Brown
The Piper's Son by Lewis Padgett

Best Short Story

Uncommon Sense by Hal Clement

Other Finalists:
Correspondence Course by Raymond F. Jones
The Ethical Equations by Murray Leinster
The Waveries by Fredric Brown
What You Need by Lewis Padgett

Best Dramatic Presentation

The Picture of Dorian Gray

Other Finalists:
Blithe Spirit
The Body Snatcher
The Horn Blows at Midnight
House of Dracula

Best Professional Editor

John W. Campbell, Jr.

Other Finalists:
Sam Merwin, Jr.
Raymond F. Palmer
Donald A. Wollheim

Best Professional Artist

Virgil Finlay

Other Finalists:
Earle K. Bergey
Hannes Bok
Edd Cartier
Frank R. Paul

Best Fanzine

Voice of the Imagi-Nation edited by Forrest J Ackerman

Other Finalists:
Acolyte edited by Francis Towner Laney
Chanticleer edited by Walt Liebscher
Fantasy Commentator edited by A. Langley Searles
Shangri L'Affaires edited by Charles E. Burbee and Gerald Hewett

Best Fan Writer

Forrest J. Ackerman

Other Finalists:
Charles E. Burbee
Francis Towner Laney
Bob Tucker
Art Widner

Best Fan Artist

William Rotsler

Other Finalists:
Joe Gibson
Lou Goldstone, Jr.
Alva Rogers
Jack Wiedenbeck

Go to previous year's finalists: 1945 (awarded in 2020)
Go to subsequent year's finalists: 1951 (awarded in 2001)

What Are the Hugo Awards?

Book Award Reviews     Home