Saturday, April 22, 1995

1995 Nebula Award Nominees

Location: Grand Hyatt, New York City, New York.

Comments: For the second year in a row, a novel about Mars won the Best Novel Nebula, this time Greg Bear's Moving Mars, which beat out, among other competitors, Kim Stanley Robinson's Green Mars. I like books about Mars, but there was so much other, more original science fiction such as Jonathan Lethem's Gun, With Occasional Music and Octavia Butler's Parable of the Sower were also on the ballot.

In the other categories, Mike Resnick, David Gerrold, and Martha Soukup won the Nebula's, but Ursula K. Le Guin made a strong statement by having two of her works nominated. The most interesting winner was Gerrold's The Martian Child, a story with almost no science fiction elements, but which focuses on the relationship between a science fiction author and the child he adopts. The story is semi-autobiographical, and quite touching.

Best Novel

Moving Mars by Greg Bear

Other Nominees:
Green Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson
Gun, With Occasional Music by Jonathan Lethem
A Night in the Lonesome October by Roger Zelazny
Parable of the Sower by Octavia E. Butler
Temporary Agency by Rachel Pollack
Towing Jehovah by James Morrow

Best Novella

Seven Views of Olduvai Gorge by Mike Resnick

Other Nominees:
Cold Iron by Michael Swanwick
Fan by Geoff Ryman
Forgiveness Day by Ursula K. Le Guin
Haunted Humans by Nina Kiriki Hoffman
Mefisto In Onyx by Harlan Ellison

Best Novelette

The Martian Child by David Gerrold

Other Nominees:
The Matter of Seggri by Ursula K. Le Guin
Necronauts by Terry Bisson
Nekropolis by Maureen F. McHugh
The Singular Habits of Wasps by Geoffrey A. Landis
The Skeleton Key by Nina Kiriki Hoffman

Best Short Story

A Defense of the Social Contracts by Martha Soukup

Other Nominees:
I Know What You're Thinking by Kate Wilhelm
Inspiration by Ben Bova
None So Blind by Joe Haldeman
Understanding Entropy by Barry N. Malzberg
Virtual Love by Maureen F. McHugh

Go to previous year's nominees: 1994
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1996

Book Award Reviews     Home

Thursday, April 20, 1995

1995 Clarke Award Nominees

Location: London, United Kingdom.

Comments: In 1995 Pat Cadigan became the first two-time winner of the Clarke Award, following up her 1992 win for Synners with her win this year for Fools. At a point in its history where other awards would have still been fumbling about ignoring women, the Clarke Award was enshrining a woman as its first two time winner. Not only that, by 1995 five out of the eight winners over all had been women. To a certain extent this is because the Clarke Award was started in 1987 as opposed to the 1950s or 1960s, but even taking that into consideration the Clarke Award has been exceptionally egalitarian.

Fools by Pat Cadigan

Alien Influences by Kristine Kathryn Rusch
Mother of Storms by John Barnes
North Wind by Gwyneth Jones
Pasquale's Angel by Paul J. McAuley
Towing Jehovah by James Morrow

What Are the Arthur C. Clarke Awards?

Go to previous year's nominees: 1994
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1996

Book Award Reviews     Home