Sunday, April 18, 1993

1993 Nebula Award Nominees

Location: Holiday Inn Crowne Plaza, New Orleans, Louisiana.

Comments: After their dalliance with honoring filmed science fiction in 1992, the SFWA abandoned the category again in 1993, and didn't award it again for a number of years. The SFWA's resistance to honoring filmed science fiction is understandable from one perspective: they exist to honor science fiction writing, and not science fiction cinema. On the other hand, dramatic science fiction still needs scriptwriters, and ignoring an entire field of writing (and possibly one of the few areas of science fiction writing that is growing substantially) seems to be a bit like putting one's head in the sand.

In any event, the Nebula Awards in 1993 were basically unsurprising. Connie Willis won for her novel Doomsday Book, and her short story Even the Queen. Pamela Sargent won for her novelette Danny Goes to Mars, and James Morrow won for his novella City of Truth, and pretty much no one was surprised.

Best Novel

Doomsday Book by Connie Willis

Other Nominees:
Briar Rose by Jane Yolen
China Mountain Zhang by Maureen F. McHugh
A Fire Upon the Deep by Vernor Vinge
A Million Open Doors by John Barnes
Sarah Canary by Karen Joy Fowler

Best Novella

City of Truth by James Morrow

Other Nominees:
Barnacle Bill the Spacer by Lucius Shepard
Contact by Jerry Oltion and Lee Goodloe
Griffin's Egg by Michael Swanwick
Protection by Maureen F. McHugh
Silver or Gold by Emma Bull
The Territory by Bradley Denton

Best Novelette

Danny Goes to Mars by Pamela Sargent

Other Nominees:
The Honeycrafters by Carolyn Gilman
The July Ward by S.N. Dyer
Matter's End by Gregory Benford
Prayers on the Wind by Walter Jon Williams
Suppose They Gave a Peace . . . by Susan Shwartz

Best Short Story

Even the Queen by Connie Willis

Other Nominees:
The Arbitrary Placement of Walls by Martha Soukup
Lennon Spex by Paul Di Filippo
Life Regarded as a Jigsaw Puzzle of Highly Lustrous Cats by Michael Bishop
The Mountain to Mohammed by Nancy Kress
Vinland the Dream by Kim Stanley Robinson

Go to previous year's nominees: 1992
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1994

Book Award Reviews     Home