Sunday, November 3, 1985

1985 World Fantasy Nominees

Location: World Fantasy Convention, Tuscon, Arizona.

Comments: 1985 saw not one, but two different ties in the World Fantasy Awards, with Barry Hughart and Robert Holdstock sharing the award for Best Novel, and Alan Ryan and Scott Baker tying for Best Short Story. 1985 was also a good year for Clive Barker, who won in the Best Anthology or Collection category and garnered another nomination in the Best Novella category. This was also the year that the World Fantasy Awards finally got around to recognizing Theodore Sturgeon for his illustrious career.

But this year also seems like something of a step backwards. The only women who received nominations this year were Diane Wynne Jones and Shawna McCarthy. Evangeline Walton won the Special Convention Award, which I am happy to see, given that she's one of my favorite fantasy authors. But the fact remains that one win and two other nominations seems to me to be a rather thin representation for half of the human race.

Best Novel

(tie) Bridge of Birds by Barry Hughart
(tie) Mythago Wood by Robert Holdstock

Other Nominees:
Archer's Goon by Diana Wynne Jones
The Ceremonies by T.E.D. Klein
The Talisman by Stephen King and Peter Straub

Best Novella

The Unconquered Country by Geoff Ryman

Other Nominees:
The Ballad of the Flexible Bullet by Stephen King
In the Sumerian Marshes by Gerald Pearce
Jacqueline Ess: Her Will and Testament by Clive Barker
The Man Who Painted the Dragon Griaule by Lucius Shepard

Best Short Fiction

(tie) The Bones Wizard by Alan Ryan
(tie) Still Life with Scorpion by Scott Baker

Other Nominees:
Bad Medicine by Jack Dann
Nightcrawlers by Robert R. McCammon

Best Anthology or Collection

Clive Barker's Books of Blood, Volumes I-III by Clive Barker

Other Nominees:
The Fire When It Comes by Parke Godwin
Masques edited by J.N. Williamson
Night Visions 1 edited by Alan Ryan
The Songbirds of Pain by Garry Kilworth
Viriconium Nights by M. John Harrison

Lifetime Achievement

Theodore Sturgeon

Other Nominees:

Best Artist

Edward Gorey

Other Nominees:
Thomas Canty
Alan Lee
J.K. Potter
Michael Whelan

Special Award, Professional

Chris van Allsburg

Other Nominees:
Robert H. Boyer and Kenneth J. Zahorski
T.E.D. Klein
Pat LoBrutto
Shawna McCarthy
Tim Underwood and Chuck Miller

Special Award, Non-Professional

Stuart David Schiff

Other Nominees:
Jeff Conner
W. Paul Ganley
Paul Mikol and Scot Stadalsky

Special Convention Award

Evangeline Walton

Other Nominees:

Go to previous year's nominees: 1984
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1986

Book Award Reviews     Home