Monday, September 7, 1992

1992 Hugo Award Finalists

Location: MagiCon in Orlando, Florida.

Comments: In 1992 the importance of Lois McMaster Bujold's 1991 Best Novel victory for The Vor Game became clear when she repeated the feat and won the Best Novel award again for Barrayar. Just a handful of years after Orson Scott Card became the first author to win back to back Best Novel Hugo Awards, Lois McMaster Bujold became the first woman to do so, and did so against a field heavily populated by other female nominees. Not only that, the other fiction categories also had a fair complement of female nominees, including the excellent winning novella Beggars in Spain by Nancy Kress. Gender inequities had not been abolished, but clearly progress had been made.

In the Dramatic Presentation category Terminator 2: Judgement Day won the award. Granted, Terminator 2 was the best science fiction or fantasy movie of the year that year, but it is interesting that it won, while the previous (and probably better) movie in the series, Terminator, didn't even rate a Hugo nomination. In a now familiar turn of events, yet another Star Trek movie was nominated for a Hugo in this category, and yet another Star Trek movie lost. This year also saw the introduction of the short-lived category Best Original Artwork, which was promptly won by Michael Whelan.

Best Novel

Barrayar by Lois McMaster Bujold

Other Finalists:
All the Weyrs of Pern by Anne McCaffrey
Bone Dance by Emma Bull
Stations of the Tide by Michael Swanwick
The Summer Queen by Joan D. Vinge
Xenocide by Orson Scott Card

Best Novella

Beggars in Spain by Nancy Kress

Other Finalists:
And Wild for to Hold by Nancy Kress
The Gallery of His Dreams by Kristine Kathryn Rusch
Griffin's Egg by Michael Swanwick
Jack by Connie Willis

Best Novelette

Gold by Isaac Asimov

Other Finalists:
Dispatches from the Revolution by Pat Cadigan
Fin de Cyclé by Howard Waldrop
Miracle by Connie Willis
Understand by Ted Chiang

Best Short Story

A Walk in the Sun by Geoffrey A. Landis

Other Finalists:
Buffalo by John Kessel
Dog's Life by Martha Soukup
In the Late Cretaceous by Connie Willis
One Perfect Morning, With Jackals by Mike Resnick
Press Ann by Terry Bisson
Winter Solstice by Mike Resnick

Best Nonfiction, Related, or Reference Work

The World of Charles Addams by Charles Addams

Other Finalists:
The Bakery Men Don't See Cookbook edited by Jeanne Gomoll,
Clive Barker's Shadows in Eden edited by Stephen Jones
The Science Fantasy Publishers: A Critical and Bibliographic History: Third Edition by Jack L. Chalker and Mark Owings
Science-Fiction: The Early Years by Everett F. Bleiler

Best Dramatic Presentation

Terminator 2: Judgement Day

Other Finalists:
The Addams Family
Beauty and the Beast (1991 Disney Film)
The Rocketeer
Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country

Best Professional Editor

Gardner Dozois

Other Finalists:
Ellen Datlow
Edward L. Ferman
Kristine Kathryn Rusch
Stanley Schmidt

Best Professional Artist

Michael Whelan

Other Finalists:
Thomas Canty
David A. Cherry
Bob Eggleton
Don Maitz

Best Original Artwork

Michael Whelan for The Summer Queen by Joan D. Vinge

Other Finalists:
Thomas Canty for The White Mists of Power by Kristine Kathryn Rusch
Bob Eggleton for Lunar Descent by Allen M. Steele
Bob Eggleton for Stations of the Tide by Michael Swanwick
Don Maitz for Heavy Time by C.J. Cherryh

Best Semi-Prozine

Locus edited by Charles N. Brown

Other Finalists:
Interzone edited by David Pringle
The New York Review of Science Fiction edited by Kathryn Cramer, David G. Hartwell, Robert K.J. Killheffer, and Gordon van Gelder
Pulphouse edited by Dean Wesley Smith
Science Fiction Chronicle edited by Andrew I. Porter

Best Fanzine

Mimosa edited by Richard Lynch and Nicki Lynch

Other Finalists:
File 770 edited by Mike Glyer
FOSFAX edited by Timothy Lane and Janice Moore
Lan's Lantern edited by George "Lan" Laskowski
Trapdoor edited by Robert Lichtman

Best Fan Writer

Dave Langford

Other Finalists:
Avedon Carol
Mike Glyer
Andrew Hooper
Evelyn C. Leeper
Harry Warner, Jr.

Best Fan Artist

Brad W. Foster

Other Finalists:
Teddy Harvia
Peggy Ranson
Stu Shiffman
Diana Harlan Stein

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Ted Chiang

Other Finalists:
Barbara Delaplace
Greer Ilene Gilman
Laura Resnick
Michelle Sagara

What Are the Hugo Awards?

Go to previous year's nominees: 1991
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1993

Book Award Reviews     Home