Monday, September 6, 1993

1993 Hugo Award Nominees

Location: ConFrancisco in San Francisco, California.

Comments: In 1992 the Best Novel voting resulted in a tie between Connie Willis' quirky time travel novel Doomsday Book, and Vernor Vinge's bizarrely imaginative novel about varying physics A Fire Upon the Deep. Either would have been a credible winner on its own, as would Kim Stanley Robinson's non-winning nominee Red Mars, which speaks to the strength of printed science fiction in the early years of the 1990s.

After six Star Trek movies featuring the original series cast and zero Hugo wins, an entirely new version of the franchise finally managed to end the Star Trek losing streak, winning for its episode The Inner Light, which bears a little bit of resemblance to the Hugo winning Arthur C. Clarke story The Star. Granted, it didn't face a lot of particularly noteworthy competition, but it is nice to see Star Trek back on top at least for a little while.

The second year for the Best Original Artwork award resulted in a win for James Gurney's Dinotopia, probably one of the most substantial victors in the short history of the award.

Best Novel

(tie) Doomsday Book by Connie Willis
(tie) A Fire Upon the Deep by Vernor Vinge

Other Finalists:
China Mountain Zhang by Maureen F. McHugh
Red Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson
Steel Beach by John Varley

Best Novella

Barnacle Bill the Spacer by Lucius Shepard

Other Finalists:
Protection by Maureen F. McHugh
Stopping at Slowyear by Frederik Pohl
The Territory by Bradley Denton
Uh-Oh City by Jonathan Carroll

Best Novelette

The Nutcracker Coup by Janet Kagan

Other Finalists:
Danny Goes to Mars by Pamela Sargent
In the Stone House by Barry N. Malzberg
Suppose They Gave a Peace. . . by Susan Shwartz
True Faces by Pat Cadigan

Best Short Story

Even the Queen by Connie Willis

Other Finalists:
The Arbitrary Placement of Walls by Martha Soukup
The Lotus and the Spear by Mike Resnick
The Mountain to Mohammed by Nancy Kress
The Winterberry by Nicholas A. DiChario

Best Nonfiction, Related, or Reference Work

A Wealth of Fable: An Informal History of Science Fiction Fandom in the 1950s by Harry Warner, Jr.

Other Finalists:
The Costumemaker's Art edited by Thom Boswell
Enterprising Women: Television Fandom and the Creation of Popular Myth by Camille Bacon-Smith
Let's Hear It for the Deaf Man by Dave Langford
Monad: Essays on Science Fiction #2 edited by Damon Knight
Virgil Finlay's Women of the Ages by Virgil Finlay

Best Dramatic Presentation

Star Trek - The Next Generation: The Inner Light

Other Finalists:
Alien 3
Batman Returns
Bram Stoker's Dracula

Best Professional Editor

Gardner Dozois

Other Finalists:
Ellen Datlow
Beth Meacham
Kristine Kathryn Rusch
Stanley Schmidt

Best Professional Artist

Don Maitz

Other Finalists:
Thomas Canty
David A. Cherry
Bob Eggleton
James Gurney

Best Original Artwork

Dinotopia by James Gurney

Other Finalists:
Jim Burns for Aristoi by Walter Jon Williams
Michael Whelan for Asimov's Science Fiction: November 1992
Michael Whelan for Illusion by Paula Volsky
Ron Walotsky for Fantasy & Science Fiction: October/November 1992

Best Semi-Prozine

Science Fiction Chronicle edited by Andrew Porter

Other Finalists:
Interzone edited by David Pringle
Locus edited by Charles N. Brown
The New York Review of Science Fiction edited by David G. Hartwell, Donald G. Keller, Robert K.J. Killheffer, and Gordon van Gelder
Pulphouse edited by Dean Wesley Smith

Best Fanzine

Mimosa edited by Dick Lynch and Nicki Lynch

Other Finalists:
File 770 edited by Mike Glyer
FOSFAX edited by Timothy Lane and Janice Moore
Lan's Lantern edited by George "Lan" Laskowski
STET edited by Leah Zeldes Smith and Dick Smith

Best Fan Writer

Dave Langford

Other Finalists:
Mike Glyer
Andy Hooper
Evelyn C. Leeper
Harry Warner, Jr.

Best Fan Artist

Peggy Ranson

Other Finalists:
Teddy Harvia
Merle Insinga
Linda Michaels
Stu Shiffman
Diana Harlan Stein

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Laura Resnick

Other Finalists:
Barbara Delaplace
Nicholas A. DiChario
Holly Lisle
Carrie Richerson
Michelle Sagara

What Are the Hugo Awards?

Go to previous year's nominees: 1992
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1994

Book Award Reviews     Home