Sunday, November 2, 1980

1980 World Fantasy Award Nominees

Location: World Fantasy Convention, Baltimore, Maryland.

Comments: After mostly ignoring women for the first several years of its existence, the World Fantasy Awards seem to have decided to try to make up for lost time in a single year. Not only did Elizabeth A. Lynn win in the Best Novel category, she shared a victory in the Best Short Fiction category, and the Jessica Amanda Salmonson edited anthology Amazons! won in the Best Anthology or Collection category.

But the real sea change was down ballot. Of the six nominees for Best Novel, five of them were authored by women. The other categories were still overwhelmingly dominated by men, with the Lifetime Achievement, Best Artist, and Special Professional Award categories being exclusively male affairs, but at least the World Fantasy Awards had finally noticed half of the human race.

Best Novel

Watchtower by Elizabeth A. Lynn

Other Nominees:
The Dancers of Arun by Elizabeth A. Lynn
The Dark Bright Water by Patricia Wrightson
Harpist in the Wind by Patricia A. McKillip
The Last Call of Mourning by Charles L. Grant
The Palace by Chelsea Quinn Yarbro

Best Short Fiction

(tie) Mackintosh Willy by Ramsey Campbell
(tie) The Woman Who Loved the Moon by Elizabeth A. Lynn

Other Nominees:
The Button Molder by Fritz Leiber
Petey by T.E.D. Klein
Saturday's Shadow by William F. Nolan

Best Anthology or Collection

Amazons! edited by Jessica Amanda Salmonson

Other Nominees:
Nightmares edited by Charles L. Grant
Shadows 2 edited by Charles L. Grant
Thieves' World edited by Robert Asprin
Whispers II edited by Stuart David Schiff
The Year's Finest Fantasy, Volume 2 edited by Terry Carr

Lifetime Achievement

Manly Wade Wellman

Other Nominees:
Avram Davidson
L. Sprague de Camp
H. Warner Munn
Jack Vance

Best Artist

Don Maitz

Other Nominees:
Stephen Fabian
Boris Vallejo
Michael Whelan

Special Award, Professional

Donald M. Grant

Other Nominees:
Lester del Rey
Pat LoBrutto
James Turner
Donald A. Wollheim

Special Award, Non-Professional

Paul C. Allen

Other Nominees:
Pat Cadigan and Arnie Fenner
Harry O. Morris, Jr.
Stuart David Schiff

Special Convention Award

Stephen King

Other Nominees:

Go to previous year's nominees: 1979
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1981

Book Award Reviews     Home