Thursday, December 31, 1981

1981 Mythopoeic Award Nominees

Location: Unknown

Comments: After a four year hiatus, the Mythopoeic Society resurrected the Mythopoeic Awards and then bestowed them in what seems to be the most incestuous way possible, honoring J.R.R. Tolkien's book Unfinished Tales with their Best Fantasy Literature Award, and handing the Scholarship Award to Christopher Tolkien. When you are a society dedicated to honoring and celebrating scholarship related to a specific group of authors, it seems almost like self-dealing to bring a particular sets of awards back into circulation and then give one award to one of those authors and, even more of a conflict of interest to, at the same time, give another one to that author's son.

Best Adult Fantasy Literature

Unfinished Tales by J.R.R. Tolkien, edited by Christopher Tolkien

Other Nominees:
The Beginning Place by Ursula K. Le Guin
The Grey Mane of Morning by Joy Chant
Lion of Ireland: The Legend of Brian Boru by Morgan Llywelyn
The Wounded Land by Stephen R. Donaldson

Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

Christopher Tolkien

Other Nominees:

Go to previous year's nominees: 1976
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1982

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment