Tuesday, December 31, 1985

1985 Prometheus Award Nominees

Location: Unknown.

Comments: 1985 was the first, and as far as I know, only, year in which the Libertarian Futurist Society returned a "No Winner" result for any category of the Prometheus Awards.There doesn't appear to be any discernible reason for the lack of a winner, as there appear to have been several quite worthy nominees - Prometheus Award regulars L. Neil Smith and F. Paul Wilson both had books nominated, while Vernor Vinge, Lee Correy, and Gordon R. Dickson all had good books make the finalist list as well. Maybe the judges were too busy reminiscing over the Poul Anderson and Eric Frank Russell books that were selected for the Hall of Fame to spend any time judging the then-current entries for the Best Novel category.

Best Novel

No Award

Other Nominees:
The Final Encyclopedia by Gordon R. Dickson
Manna by Lee Correy
The Peace War by Vernor Vinge
Tom Paine Maru by L. Neil Smith
The Tomb by F. Paul Wilson

Hall of Fame

The Great Explosion by Eric Frank Russell
Trader to the Stars by Poul Anderson

Other Nominees:

Go to previous year's nominees: 1984
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1986

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment