Thursday, December 31, 1987

1987 Mythopoeic Award Nominees

Location: Unknown.

Comments: Due to the specific rules of the Mythopoeic Awards, a series is eligible as a whole in the year that its final volume appears. In addition to the nomination for Guy Gavriel Kay's Fionavar Tapestry this year, R.A. MacAvoy had previously been nominated for her Damiano Trilogy in 1985. I have mixed feelings about these sorts of inclusions in award nominations, because of the inherent difficulty in comparing a single book, like most nominees, with a series of books such as these. On the other hand, the two most famous authors of the Inklings, J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis, were known for book series like the Lord of the Rings, the Chronicles of Narnia, and the Space Trilogy, so it seems somewhat fitting to honor this sort of literary product in the Mythopoeic Awards.

Best Adult Fantasy Literature

The Folk of the Air by Peter S. Beagle

Other Nominees:
The Fionavar Tapestry (The Summer Tree, The Wandering Fire, and The Darkest Road) by Guy Gavriel Kay
Merlin's Booke by Jane Yolen
Tales from the Flat Earth by Tanith Lee

Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

J.R.R. Tolkien: Myth, Morality, and Religion by Richard Purtill

Other Nominees:

Go to previous year's nominees: 1986
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1988

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment