Sunday, December 31, 1995

1995 Campbell Award Nominees

Location: Campbell Conference Awards Banquet at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas.

Comments: While 1994 Campbell Awards had no winning novel, the 1995 Campbell Awards had no third place finisher. Although I long ago gave up trying to figure out why this award seems to have veered back and forth between recognizing a first, second, and third place novel and not doing so, it seems somewhat ironic that this result came right on the heels of the disgraceful results of 1994.

The winning novel this year was Permutation City by Greg Egan, which is a mildly notable result because Egan is an Australian, and although American science fiction readers are generally fairly familiar with British writers, Australian writers seem to be ignored all too often. On the other hand, Egan seems to be the one Australian writer that American readers know about, so maybe his win isn't that notable after all.

Best Novel

Permutation City by Greg Egan

Second Place:
Brittle Innings by Michael Bishop

Go to previous year's nominees: 1994
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1996

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment