Thursday, May 12, 2005

2005 Clarke Award Nominees

Location: English Heritage Lecture Theatre in London, United Kingdom.

Comments: We know that the 1987 Clarke Awards were handed out at Eastercon in Birmingham. We know that the 2005 Clarke Awards were bestowed in the English Heritage Theatre in London. In between those two events, there is almost no information at all concerning the location at which the Clarke Award ceremony was held. These sorts of gaps are not uncommon in our knowledge concerning the history of science fiction in general, and the history of science fiction awards in particular. Often times, the records concerning where awards ceremonies were held, who judged them, why particular award categories were added, changed, or removed, and even who the non-winning nominees were are simply lost. To a certain extent, this is to be expected, as the history of science fiction and science fiction awards is also a history that has been produced by volunteers. But it is also unfortunate, because it means that this information is lost and may never be recovered.

Iron Council by China MiƩville

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell
Market Forces by Richard Morgan
River of Gods by Ian McDonald
The System of the World by Neal Stephenson
The Time Traveler's Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

What Are the Arthur C. Clarke Awards?

Go to previous year's nominees: 2004
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 2006

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment