Friday, December 31, 1971

1971 Mythopoeic Award Nominees

Location: Unknown

Comments: In 1971 the Mythopoeic Society created the Mythopoeic Awards with two categories - one for Best Fantasy Literature, and one for Scholarship in Inklings Studies. The second award category focuses on scholarship related to the works of the Inklings - a groups that included J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, Charles Williams, Roger Lancelyn Green, Hugo Dyson, and several others. But the interesting thing here is that this award for scholarship relating to the Inklings was created while several of the Inklings, such as Tolkien, Green, and Dyson, were still alive. There is something that seems just a little audacious about creating an award for scholarship relating to a group with several living members, which seems like an odd thing to say about an organization dedicated to studying and honoring a collection of university professors who liked to get together to drink and swap stories.

Best Adult Fantasy Literature

The Crystal Cave by Mary Stewart

Other Nominees:
Deryni Rising by Katherine Kurtz
The Marvelous Misadventures of Sebastian by Lloyd Alexander
Nine Princes in Amber by Roger Zelazny

Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

(tie) C.S. Kilby
(tie) Mary McDermott Shideler

Other Nominees:

Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1972

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment