Saturday, December 31, 1983

1983 Mythopoeic Award Nominees

Location: Unknown

Comments: There is a curious dichotomy in the first couple of decades of the Mythopoeic Awards. The Mythopoeic Society usually provided a full slate of nominees in the Fantasy Literature category, ensuring that later observers would be able to compare the winning works against their competition. But in the Scholarship Award category, the Mythopoeic Society only lists the winners. They don't indicate whether this is because there was only one work considered (or in the case of 1971 and 1976, two and three nominees considered respectively), or because they simply refuse to reveal what non-winning works were considered for the award. This creates an odd differentiation where, for example, in this year there were nine total nominees for the Fantasy Literature Award, but only one nominee for the Scholarship Award.

Best Adult Fantasy Literature

The Firelings by Carol Kendall

Other Nominees:
The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley
The Darkangel by Meredith Ann Pierce
The Door in the Hedge by Robin McKinley
God Stalk by P.C. Hodgell
Lady of Light by Diana L. Paxson
The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley
The One Tree by Stephen R. Donaldson
Queen of Sorcery by David Eddings

Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

Companion to Narnia by Paul F. Ford

Other Nominees:

Go to previous year's nominees: 1982
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1984

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment