Tuesday, December 31, 1991

1991 Mythopoeic Award Nominees

Location: Unknown.

Comments: After an absence of several years, the slate of nominees for the Scholarship Award returned in 1991, possibly as a preview for the expanded slate of awards that would show up in 1992. Whether this addition of non-winning nominees for the Scholarship Award was a harbinger of the split of both of the Mythopoeic Award categories or not is entirely unclear, but it does allow us to see what competition George Sayer's work had for the award, and be able to evaluate their relative merits.

Best Adult Fantasy Literature

Thomas the Rhymer by Ellen Kushner

Other Nominees:
The Books of Great Alta (Sister Light, Sister Dark and White Jenna) by Jane Yolen
Only Begotten Daughter by James Morrow
Tehanu: The Last Book of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin
Tigana by Guy Gavriel Kay

Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

Jack: C.S. Lewis and His Times by George Sayer

Other Nominees:
Owen Barfield on C.S. Lewis by Owen Barfield
The Pattern in the Web: The Mythical Poetry of Charles Williams by Roma A. King
A Purgatorial Flame: Seven British Writers in the Second World War by Sebastian Knowles
The Taste of the Pineapple: Essays on C.S. Lewis as Reader, Critic, and Imaginative Writer edited by Bruce L. Edward

Go to previous year's nominees: 1990
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1992

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment