Tuesday, December 31, 1991

1991 Campbell Award Nominees

Location: Campbell Conference Awards Banquet at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas.

Comments: In 1991, Pacific Edge, Kim Stanely Robinson's final installment in his Three Californias series, won the Campbell Award. This victory seems to continue a trend among award voters to give a nod to the final book in a series as a way to recognize the series as a whole, regardless of whether it was the best book in the series or not. There seems to be a trend in genre fiction towards making publishing a trilogy length series of book the de facto standard, with stand-alone novels becoming rarer and rarer. I have to wonder if this tendency of award voters to ignore books until they are the third or fourth in a series has influenced this trend, as authors and editors spend their time trying to chase accolades by pushing out more and more series fiction.

Best Novel

Pacific Edge by Kim Stanley Robinson

Second Place:
Queen of Angels by Greg Bear

Third Place:
Only Begotten Daughter by James Morrow

Go to previous year's nominees: 1990
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1992

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment