Thursday, December 31, 1998

1998 Prometheus Award Nominees

Location: Unknown.

Comments: In 1998 the Libertarian Futurist Society reached into its bag of tricks and decided to hand out a Special Prometheus Award for the Free Space anthology edited by Brad Linaweaver and Edward E. Kramer. That the Libertarian Futurist Society would want to honor such a book is completely unsurprising, given the subject matter of the book and the stature of the writers contributing to it. But the fact that they had to go outside of the normal process and honor the book with a "Special Award" points towards the limitations of the Prometheus Awards - they only normally honor novels and "classic" works of libertarian thought in any media form (as would become apparent a few years after this in which the Society would honor the BBC television program The Prisoner). But if there is a current work of libertarian fiction that isn't a novel, there is no way to honor the work other than the ad hoc method of giving it a special award.

Best Novel

The Stone Canal by Ken MacLeod

Other Nominees:
Bretta Martyn by L. Neil Smith
Finity's End by C.J. Cherryh
The Fleet of Stars by Poul Anderson
Nanotime by Bart Kosko

Hall of Fame

Time Enough for Love by Robert A. Heinlein

Other Nominees:
The Mirror Maze by James P. Hogan
Orion Shall Rise by Poul Anderson
A Planet for Texans (aka Lonestar Planet) by H. Beam Piper and John J. McGuire
Wasp by Eric Frank Russell

Special Award

Free Space edited by Brad Linaweaver and Edward E. Kramer

Other Nominees:

Go to previous year's nominees: 1997
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1999

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment