Thursday, December 31, 1998

1998 Cambpell Award Nominees

Location: Campbell Conference Awards Banquet at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas.

Comments: Although Forever Peace is not his best novel, the fact that Haldeman didn't win for The Forever War couldn't be remedied in 1998 in any way other than by honoring the similarly named although not really connected current novel. It didn't hurt that the competition was not particularly stellar, although as has been the case for many of the Campbell Award ballots, it was exclusively male. I wonder if the result might have been a little tighter if the judges had considered the books written by other half of the human species.

Best Novel

Forever Peace by Joe Haldeman

Second Place:
/ Slant by Greg Bear

Third Place:
Secret Passages by Paul Preuss

Go to previous year's nominees: 1997
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1999

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment