Saturday, December 31, 2005

2005 Prometheus Award Nominees

Location: Unknown.

Comments: Once again, the Libertarian Futurist Society pulled the Special Award category out of its closet so that they could honor a pair of short fiction anthologies and a graphic novel. This indicates to me that the Prometheus Awards probably should have more award categories than the current "Best Novel" and "Hall of Fame" options. However, contrary to what one might think, it appears that libertarians are extremely conservative and hidebound, and they would rather give away special awards on an ad hoc basis rather than actually making the categories match the state of the media in the world around them.

Best Novel

The System of the World by Neal Stephenson

Other Nominees:
Anarquia by Brad Linaweaver and Kent J. Hastings
Marque and Reprisal by Elizabeth Moon
Newton's Wake by Ken MacLeod
State of Fear by Michael Crichton

Hall of Fame

The Weapon Shops of Isher by A.E. van Vogt

Other Nominees:
It Can't Happen Here by Sinclair Lewis
The Lord of the Rings (The Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers, and The Return of the King) by J.R.R. Tolkien
A Time of Changes by Robert Silverberg
V for Vendetta by Alan Moore and David Lloyd

Special Award

Give Me Liberty edited by Mark Tier and Martin H. Greenberg
The Probability Broach: The Graphic Novel by L. Neil Smith, illustrated by Scott Bieser
Visions of Liberty edited by Mark Tier and Martin H. Greenberg

Other Nominees:

Go to previous year's nominees: 2004
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 2006

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment