Monday, December 31, 2007

2007 Prometheus Award Nominees

Location: Unknown.

Comments: A year after the Alan Moore graphic novel V for Vendetta was inducted into the Hall of Fame, the film version of the story was given a special award by the Libertarian Futurist Society. As I have said before, this sort of ad hoc method of honoring current works that are not novels seems to me to be indicative of the limitations of the Prometheus Awards as they stand today. Quite simply, while the Hall of Fame permits the Prometheus Awards to honor works of fiction from the past no matter the medium they appeared in, the only way for the Prometheus awards to honor current works of fiction that are not novels is to give them a special award. The frequency with which special awards have been handed out in recent years appears to indicate that the Prometheus Awards may be due for an overhaul.

Best Novel

Glasshouse by Charles Stross

Other Nominees:
Empire by Orson Scott Card
The Ghost Brigades by John Scalzi
Harbingers by F. Paul Wilson
Rainbow's End by Vernor Vinge

Hall of Fame

(tie) It Can't Happen Here by Sinclair Lewis
(tie) True Names by Vernor Vinge

Other Nominees:
Animal Farm by George Orwell
As Easy as A.B.C. by Rudyard Kipling
A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
The Lord of the Rings (The Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers, and The Return of the King) by J.R.R. Tolkien

Special Award

V for Vendetta directed by James McTeigue, screenplay by Larry and David Wachowski

Other Nominees:

Go to previous year's nominees: 2006
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 2008

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment