Monday, December 31, 1990

1990 Clarke Award Nominees

Location: United Kingdom.

Comments: There is a kind of inevitability in the results for the 1990 Clarke Awards. I'm not talking about Geoff Ryman winning for The Child Garden, or even Jonathan Carroll winning for A Child Across the Sky. No, I am referring to the tie for third place, which was almost assured after the judges saw fit to include a third place ranking in 1989. Once a new result category is added, it is almost a certainty that it will quickly result in a tie, and in 1990, the Clarke Awards provided yet another example of this phenomenon.

The Child Garden by Geoff Ryman

A Child Across the Sky by Jonathan Carroll

Third Place
(tie) Desolation Road by Ian McDonald
(tie) A Mask for the General by Lisa Goldstein

Ivory by Mike Resnick
Neverness by David Zindell
Soldiers of Paradise by Paul Park

What Are the Arthur C. Clarke Awards?

Go to previous year's nominees: 1989
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1991

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment