Monday, December 31, 1990

1990 Mythopoeic Award Nominees

Location: Unknown.

Comments: In 1990 the ridiculousness of awarding the Mythopoeic Award for Scholarship to works by Inklings seems to have reached its apex with the award going to Tolkien's Hobbit, albeit an annotated version. Even if one considers the annotations by Douglas Anderson to be the "scholarship" being honored, the primary element of the work in question is Tolkien's fiction, meaning that the Mythopoeic Society essentially gave an award for scholarship about Tolkien to a work of fiction by Tolkien. This gives the appearance, at the very least, of an incestuous decision making process.

Best Adult Fantasy Literature

The Stress of Her Regard by Tim Powers

Other Nominees:
The Changeling Sea by Patricia A. McKillip
The City, Not Long After by Pat Murphy
Fool on the Hill by Matt Ruff
Prentice Alvin by Orson Scott Card

Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

The Annotated Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien, annotated by Douglas A. Anderson

Other Nominees:

Go to previous year's nominees: 1989
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1991

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment