Thursday, December 31, 1992

1992 Campbell Award Nominees

Location: Campbell Conference Awards Banquet at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas.

Comments: The 1992 Campbell Award results are curious. Not because of what book won, but rather because somehow the third place finishers all ended up in a three way tie. At first I thought this might be a sneaky way for the judges to add in more finishers, and consequently make the Campbell Award results look more like the Hugo or Nebula award results, with a full slate of non-winning nominees, but since this format does not seem to have been replicated in succeeding years, that doesn't seem to be the case. It just seems that the extraordinary unlikely result of three novels earning exactly enough votes to share third place in the balloting is the explanation.

Best Novel

Buddy Holly Is Alive and Well on Ganymede by Bradley Denton

Second Place:
The Difference Engine by William Gibson and Bruce Sterling

Third Place:
(tie) The Silicon Man by Charles Platt
(tie) Stations of the Tide by Michael Swanwick
(tie) A Woman of the Iron People by Eleanor Arnason

Go to previous year's nominees: 1991
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1993

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment