Thursday, December 31, 1992

1992 World Fantasy Award Nominees

Location: World Fantasy Convention, Pine Mountain, Georgia.

Comments: Although he didn't win any of the categories, with four nominations, on for Best Novel, one for Best Novella, and two for Best Short Fiction, 1991 was clearly Charles de Lint's year. This is not to say that other authors didn't have a great year as well: Robert Holdstock won for Best Novella and was nominated for Best Collection, Darrell Schweitzer won a Special Professional Award and was nominated for Best Novella, Ellen Datlow won for Best Anthology and was nominated for another work in the same category, and Martin H. Greenberg garnered two nomination in the Best Anthology Category. Why this concentration of nominees occurred is unclear - the established pattern for the World Fantasy Awards to this point had been for the same people to be nominated from year to year, but it was rare for people to garner multiple nominations in a single year - but one possible explanation is the increasing concentration of the publishing industry, squeezing out the authors who provided the revolving variety around the perennial stalwarts.

Best Novel

Boy's Life by Robert R. McCammon

Other Nominees:
Bone Dance by Emma Bull
Hunting the Ghost Dancer by A.A. Attanasio
The Little Country by Charles de Lint
Outside the Dog Museum by Jonathan Carroll
The Paper Grail by James P. Blaylock

Best Novella

The Ragthorn by Robert Holdstock and Garry Kilworth

Other Nominees:
The Gallery of His Dreams by Kristine Kathryn Rusch
Gwydion and the Dragon by C.J. Cherryh
Our Lady of the Harbour by Charles de Lint
The Pavilion of Frozen Women by S.P. Somtow
To Become a Sorcerer by Darrell Schweitzer

Best Short Fiction

The Somewhere Doors by Fred Chappell

Other Nominees:
The Better Boy by James P. Blaylock and Tim Powers
The Conjure Man by Charles de Lint
Pity the Monsters by Charles de Lint

Best Anthology

The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Fourth Annual Collection edited by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling

Other Nominees:
After the King: Stories in Honor of J.R.R. Tolkien edited by Martin H. Greenberg
Famous Fantastic Mysteries edited by Stefan R. Dziemianowicz, Robert Weinberg, and Martin H. Greenberg
Final Shadows edited by Charles L. Grant
When the Music's Over edited by Lewis Shiner
A Whisper of Blood edited by Ellen Datlow

Best Collection

The Ends of the Earth by Lucius Shepard

Other Nominees:
The Bone Forest by Robert Holdstock
Grimscribe: His Lives and Works by Thomas Ligotti
Lafferty In Orbit by R.A. Lafferty
More Shapes Than One by Fred Chappell
Night of the Cooters: More Neat Stories by Howard Waldrop

Lifetime Achievement

Edd Cartier

Other Nominees:

Best Artist

Tim Hildebrandt

Other Nominees:
David Bergen
Alan M. Clark
Ned Dameron
Alan Lee

Special Award, Professional

George Scithers and Darrell Schweitzer

Other Nominees:
Ramsey Campbell
Donald M. Grant
Dean Wesley Smith and Kristine Kathryn Rusch
Terri Windling

Special Award, Non-Professional

W. Paul Ganley

Other Nominees:
Crispin Burnham
Barry Hoffman
Peggy Nadramia
Joe Stefko and Tracy Cocoman

Go to previous year's nominees: 1991
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1993

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment