Saturday, December 31, 1994

1994 Campbell Award Nominees

Location: Campbell Conference Awards Banquet at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas.

Comments: Of all the Campbell Award voting results, this one is the one that seems to me to be the most inexplicable. Somehow the judges decided that there was no science fiction novel published in 1993 that was worthy of being honored, despite the fact that two excellent science fiction novels - Beggars in Spain and Moving Mars - were voted second and third place. How is it possible that "No Winner" was a better choice than either of those two novels? Looking at novels nominated for other awards in the same time frame one has to wonder how "No Winner" was a better choice than Kim Stanley Robinson's Green Mars, or David Brin's Glory Season, or Gene Wolfe's Nightside of the Long Sun, or any number of other novels. The only real answer here is that the judges for the 1994 Campbell Awards failed, and should be ashamed for returning with this unconscionable result.

Best Novel

No Winner

Second Place:
Beggars in Spain by Nancy Kress

Third Place:
Moving Mars by Greg Bear

Go to previous year's nominees: 1993
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1995

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment