Monday, December 31, 2001

2001 Clarke Award Nominees

Location: United Kingdom.

Comments: In 2001 China Miéville won his first Clarke Award for his brilliant novel Perdido Street Station. As Miéville is the most decorated author in the history of the Clarke Award, the only thing that is surprising about his win this year is that it took so long. Between 2001 and the present, Miéville would go on to win the Clarke Award two more times, once in 2005, and once in 2010. If he continues this pattern, and given his talent there's no reason to think he won't, then we should look for Miéville to also win the Clarke Award in 2015.

Perdido Street Station by China Miéville

Ash: A Secret History by Mary Gentle
Cosmonaut Keep by Ken MacLeod
Parable of the Talents by Octavia E. Butler
Revelation Space by Alastair Reynolds
Salt by Adam Roberts

What Are the Arthur C. Clarke Awards?

Go to previous year's nominees: 2000
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 2002

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment