Wednesday, December 31, 1986

1986 Mythopoeic Award Nominees

Location: Unknown.

Comments: In 1986, for the first time, the Mythopoeic Award for Scholarship in Inklings Studies reported a full slate of nominees to the public, and not merely the winning entry. This was the first time this had happened, and the last time it would happen until the early 1990s, as the Mythopoeic Society seems to have recovered from whatever malady made them think that observers appreciated additional information about the process that led to particular works winning their awards. The recovery was short-lived, however, and when the Mythopoeic Awards were completely overhauled in 1991, the non-winning nominees would be listed for all categories.

Best Adult Fantasy Literature

Bridge of Birds by Barry Hughart

Other Nominees:
Always Coming Home by Ursula K. Le Guin
Dark of the Moon by P.C. Hodgell
Dragonsbane by Barbara Hambly
Fire and Hemlock by Diana Wynne Jones
The Wandering Unicorn by Manuel Mujica Lainez

Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

Charles Williams, Poet of Theology by Glen Cavaliero

Other Nominees:
The Fantasts by Edmund Little
J.R.R. Tolkien: Myth, Morality, and Religion by Richard Purtill
The Novels of Charles Williams by Thomas Howard
Splintered Light by Verlyn Flieger

Go to previous year's nominees: 1985
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1987

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment