Wednesday, December 31, 1986

1986 Prometheus Award Nominees

Location: Unknown.

Comments: In an act that was either self-deprecating humor or completely clueless irony, in 1986 the Libertarian Futurist Society inducted The Illuminatus Trilogy by Robert Shea and Robert Anton Wilson into its Hall of Fame. The key element here is that The Illuminatus Trilogy is very much not a work of libertarian fiction, and is instead a brutally satirical send-up of libertarian ideas. The fact that this series of books was inducted into the Prometheus Award Hall of Fame seems to me to be yet another indication of the scarcity of actual libertarian science fiction, leading to works that really aren't in the subgenre getting nominated for, and fairly frequently winning, the award.

Best Novel

The Cybernetic Samurai by Victor Milán

Other Nominees:
Elegy for a Soprano by Kay Nolte Smith
The Gallatin Divergence by L. Neil Smith
A Matter of Time by Glen Cook
Radio Free Albemuth by Philip K. Dick

Hall of Fame

The Illuminatus Trilogy (The Eye in the Pyramid, The Golden Apple, and Leviathan) by Robert Shea and Robert Anton Wilson
The Syndic by Cyril M. Kornbluth

Other Nominees:

Go to previous year's nominees: 1985
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1987

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment