Wednesday, December 31, 1986

1986 World Fantasy Nominees

Location: World Fantasy Convention, Providence, Rhode Island.

Comments: In 1986, Anne Rice made the first of her many appearances on the nominee list with The Vampire Lestat. This marked a distinct development in the world of fantasy, as romance oriented vampire fiction emerged as a dominant form in the field. Eventually, other traditional fantasy creatures such as werewolves and witches joined this style of fiction, resulting in the format now known as Paranormal Romance. But in 1986, this was all in the future and all that there was of this was the embryonic seeds.

In contrast, the Lifetime Achievement Award went to Avram Davidson, a distinguished member of the "old guard" of fantasy fiction. In many ways, the nomination of Anne Rice and the win for Avram Davidson represent the transition the fantasy field was going through in the 1980s, as the older, male dominated vision of the genre was slowly giving way to a new, more female-friendly one.

Best Novel

Song of Kali by Dan Simmons

Other Nominees:
The Damnation Game by Clive Barker
The Dream Years by Lisa Goldstein
Illywhacker by Peter Carey
The Vampire Lestat by Anne Rice
Winterking by Paul Hazel

Best Novella

Nadelman's God by T.E.D. Klein

Other Nominees:
Dead Image by David Morrell
Do I Dare to Eat a Peach? by Chelsea Quinn Yarbro
Flight by Peter Dickinson
The Gorgon Field by Kate Wilhelm

Best Short Fiction

Paper Dragons by James P. Blaylock

Other Nominees:
The Jaguar Hunter by Lucius Shepard
Return of the Dust Vampires by Sharon N. Farber
The Slovo Stove by Avram Davidson

Best Anthology or Collection

Imaginary Lands edited by Robin McKinley

Other Nominees:
Black Venus by Angela Carter
Clive Barker's Books of Blood, Volumes IV-VI by Clive Barker
Dragonfield and Other Stories by Jane Yolen
Faery! edited by Terri Windling
Night Visions 2 edited by Charles L. Grant
Skeleton Crew by Stephen King
Whispers V edited by Stuart David Schiff

Lifetime Achievement

Avram Davidson

Other Nominees:

Best Artist

(tie) Thomas Canty
(tie) Jeff Jones

Other Nominees:
Alan Lee
J.K. Potter

Special Award, Professional

Pat LoBrutto

Other Nominees:
Thomas Canty and Phil Hale
Donald M. Grant
Terri Windling

Special Award, Non-Professional

Douglas E. Winter

Other Nominees:
Jeff Conner
W. Paul Ganley
Paul Mikol and Scot Stadalsky
David B. Silva

Special Convention Award

Donald A. Wollheim

Other Nominees:

Go to previous year's nominees: 1985
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1987

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment