Sunday, December 31, 1989

1989 Prometheus Award Nominees

Location: Unknown.

Comments: In 1989, the Libertarian Futurist Society decided to make the listing of the non-winning Hall of Fame Award nominees a permanent part of their reporting. The problem is that in many cases it seems that this reporting serves only to highlight how mediocre the winning entry seems when compared to the competition. There's nothing particularly wrong with Schulman's Alongside Night, but when lined up beside Le Guin's The Dispossessed and Zamyatin's We, it suffers in comparison. Not only that, the inclusion on the nominee list of non-science fiction works like Kesey's One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest serves only to highlight how thin the ranks of "libertarian science fiction" actually is.

Best Novel

Moon of Ice by Brad Linaweaver

Other Nominees:
Brightsuit MacBear by L. Neil Smith
David's Sling by Marc Stiegler
Falling Free by Lois McMaster Bujold
Final Circuit by Melinda Snodgrass
To Sail Beyond the Sunset by Robert A. Heinlein

Hall of Fame

Alongside Night by J. Neil Schulman

Other Nominees:
The Dispossessed by Ursula K. Le Guin
One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest by Ken Kesey
We by Yevgeny Zamyatin
We the Living by Ayn Rand

Go to previous year's nominees: 1988
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1990

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment