Sunday, December 31, 1989

1989 World Fantasy Award Nominees

Location: World Fantasy Convention, Seattle, Washington.

Comments: In 1989, the World Fantasy awards recognized Evangeline Walton, one of my favorite authors, for her lifetime achievement. Her adaptation of the Mabinogion into a set of four fantasy novels was one of the formative reading experiences of my life, and after Tolkien was one of the biggest influences that sparked my love of mythology, in her case, my love of Celtic and Welsh mythology. Consequently, I believe that her award here was not only well-deserved, but long overdue.

In the other award categories, the winners seem to generally be well-deserved, although I have always been quite surprised that George R.R. Martin's The Skin Trade, as good as it is, was able to beat out Jane Yolen's harrowing The Devil's Arithmetic for the Best Novella award.

Best Novel

Koko by Peter Straub

Other Nominees:
The Drive-In by Joe R. Lansdale
Fade by Robert Cormier
The Last Coin by James P. Blaylock
The Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris
Sleeping In Flame by Jonathan Carroll

Best Novella

The Skin Trade by George R.R. Martin

Other Nominees:
The Devil's Arithmetic by Jane Yolen
The Gardener by Sheri S. Tepper
The Scalehunter's Beautiful Daughter by Lucius Shepard

Best Short Fiction

Winter Solstice, Camelot Station by John M. Ford

Other Nominees:
Life of Buddha by Lucius Shepard
Metastasis by Dan Simmons
Night They Missed the Horror Show by Joe R. Lansdale

Best Anthology

The Year's Best Fantasy: First Annual Collection edited by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling

Other Nominees:
Night Visions 6 edited by Paul J. Mikol
Prime Evil edited by Douglas E. Winter
Silver Scream edited by David J. Schow

Best Collection

(tie) Angry Candy by Harlan Ellison
(tie) Storeys from the Old Hotel by Gene Wolfe

Other Nominees:
The Blood Kiss by Dennis Etchison
Cabal by Clive Barker
Charles Beaumont: Selected Stories by Charles Beaumont, edited by Roger Anker
The Knight and Knave of Swords by Fritz Leiber

Lifetime Achievement

Evangeline Walton

Other Nominees:

Best Artist

Edward Gorey

Other Nominees:
Jill Bauman
Thomas Canty
Don Maitz
Harry O. Morris
Phil Parks

Special Award, Professional

(tie) Robert Weinberg
(tie) Terri Windling

Other Nominees:
Ellen Datlow
Dean R. Koontz
Paul Mikol and Scot Stadalsky

Special Award, Non-Professional

Kristine Kathryn Rusch and Dean Wesley Smith

Other Nominees:
Carl T. Ford
Peggy Nadramia
Paul F. Olson

Go to previous year's nominees: 1988
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1990

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment