Saturday, January 3, 1970

1957 International Fantasy Award Nominees

By 1957, the International Fantasy Award was in its death throes. The last International Fantasy Award was awarded that year to The Lord of the Rings as Best Fiction Book. The Best Non-Fiction Book award had last been given in 1953 and the award for Best Fiction Book was not even handed out in 1956. In 1957 the only work nominated was The Lord of the Rings. By 1958, the International Fantasy Award was defunct. Oddly, no Hugo Award for Best Novel was awarded in 1957 - in fact, no Hugo Awards of any kind for fiction were bestowed that year.

The 1957 International Fantasy Award for Best Fiction Book was technically given to The Lord of the Rings as a whole, which is appropriate given that Tolkien always regarded it as a single book. However, for publishing reasons the book was divided into three volumes, and as a result I have listed each volume separately here.

Best Fiction Book

The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien
The Two Towers by J.R.R. Tolkien
The Return of the King by J.R.R. Tolkien

Other Nominees:

What Are the International Fantasy Awards?

Go to previous year's nominees: 1955

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment