Saturday, December 31, 1988

1988 Clarke Award Nominees

Location: United Kingdom.

Comments: The Clarke Award is something of strange animal. The eligibility requirements are that a book must be in the science fiction genre, and it must be first published in Britain. Leaving aside the eternally elusive definition of what is and is not "in the science fiction genre", the publication requirement is the quirky element. Unlike, for example, the Aurealis Awards, which honor works of science fiction written by Australians, the Clarke Award honors works of science fiction published in Britain, regardless of whether the author is from Britain or not. This tends to result in British authors being nominated, as they are the most likely authors to have their work published in Britain first, but it seems to have resulted in a fair number of non-British authors arranging to have their books published in Britain first so as to be eligible for this award, which I think somewhat defeats its purpose.

The Sea and Summer by George Turner

Fiasco by Stanislaw Lem

Ægypt by John Crowley
Ancient of Days by Michael Bishop
Gráinne by Keith Roberts
Memoirs of an Invisible Man by H.F. Saint
Replay by Ken Grimwood

What Are the Arthur C. Clarke Awards?

Go to previous year's nominees: 1987
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1989

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment