Saturday, December 31, 1988

1988 Prometheus Award Nominees

Location: Unknown.

Comments: 1988 was the first year since the Hall of Fame category was introduced in which only a single work was honored by induction into it. This seems to have been a permanent shift away from inducting two novels per year, as from this point forward the only times that more than one novel has been inducted in a particular year has been when the results were specifically designated a "tie". This appears to have been a change from the first several years of the Hall of Fame award in which it seems that two novels were simply selected for induction each year rather than two novels tying for first place in the voting, although it is difficult to confirm that this was the case, as in these relatively early years of the Prometheus Awards the Libertarian Futurist Society doesn't appear to have kept any records of who the nominees for the category were, or the details of how the inductees were selected. Or if they did keep such records, they haven't seen fit to make them public.

Best Novel

The Jehovah Contract by Victor Koman

Other Nominees:
Circuit Breaker by Melinda Snodgrass
First Citizen by Thomas T. Thomas
The Uplift War by David Brin
Way of the Pilgrim by Gordon R. Dickson

Hall of Fame

The Stars My Destination by Alfred Bester

Other Nominees:

Go to previous year's nominees: 1987
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1989

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment