Saturday, December 31, 1988

1988 Mythopoeic Award Nominees

Location: Unknown.

Comments: 1988 is the first time I have had a serious disagreement with the results of the Mythopoeic Award for Fantasy Literature. I simply don't think that Orson Scott Card's novel Seventh Son should have won the award. While Seventh Son is not a bad novel, it is basically just a fairly routine hodgepodge of folklore thrown into an alternate history of the United States. In comparison, all of the other nominees were simply much more creative and interesting - an observation that is substantiated when one looks at some of the other genre awards handed out in 1988, with Pat Murphy's The Falling Woman winning a Nebula Award, and Connie Willis' Lincoln's Dreams winning the Campbell Award.

Best Adult Fantasy Literature

Seventh Son by Orson Scott Card

Other Nominees:
The Falling Woman by Pat Murphy
Lincoln's Dreams by Connie Willis
War for the Oaks by Emma Bull

Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

C.S. Lewis by Joe R. Christopher

Other Nominees:

Go to previous year's nominees: 1987
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1989

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment