Friday, December 31, 1993

1993 Campbell Award Nominees

Location: Campbell Conference Awards Banquet at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas.

Comments: Even though 1993 is reasonably recent - a mere twenty-one years ago - the result of the Campbell Awards are once again an example of how some books age better than others. At the time, I doubt if anyone would have questioned the placement of Charles Sheffield's Brother to Dragons as the first place finisher in the voting. But now, two decades later, I suspect that most people who you asked would rank these books in the reverse order from the order they appear here, with Vinge's A Fire Upon the Deep taking first place, and Sheffield's book relegated to the third spot.

Best Novel

Brother to Dragons by Charles Sheffield

Second Place:
Sideshow by Sheri S. Tepper

Third Place:
A Fire Upon the Deep by Vernor Vinge

Go to previous year's nominees: 1992
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1994

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment