Friday, December 31, 1993

1993 Mythopoeic Award Nominees

Location: Unknown.

Comments: By 1993, the Mythopoeic Awards had developed into their fully formed modern version. All four of the current categories had been established by the Mythopoeic Society. All four of the award categories listed both the winning entry and the full slate of non-winning nominees. Although the Mythopoeic Awards had long been leaps and bounds ahead of most other genre awards in terms of things like genre equity, they had lagged behind when it came to their reporting methods, so the change made in 1992 and stuck with in 1993 and thereafter was a welcome development.

Best Adult Fantasy Literature

Briar Rose by Jane Yolen

Other Nominees:
Doomsday Book by Connie Willis
The Grail of Hearts by Susan Shwartz
Last Call by Tim Powers
The Paper Grail by James P. Blaylock

Best Children's Fantasy Literature

Knight's Wyrd by Debra Doyle and James D. Macdonald

Other Nominees:
The Ancient One by T.A. Barron
Fish Soup by Ursula K. Le Guin
Hobkin by Peni R. Griffin
Jennifer Murdley's Toad by Bruce Coville

Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

Planets in Peril: A Critical Study of C.S. Lewis's Ransom Trilogy by David C. Downing

Other Nominees:
J.R.R. Tolkien: Life and Legend introduction by Judith Priestman
The Pattern in the Web: The Mythical Poetry of Charles Williams by Roma A. King, Jr.
Tolkien: A Critical Assessment by Brian Rosebury

Myth and Fantasy Studies

Strategies of Fantasy by Brian Attebery

Other Nominees:
Witches of the Mind: A Critical Study of Fritz Leiber by Bruce Byfield
Contours of the Fantastic edited by Michele K. Lanford

Go to previous year's nominees: 1992
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1994

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment