Thursday, April 20, 1995

1995 Clarke Award Nominees

Location: London, United Kingdom.

Comments: In 1995 Pat Cadigan became the first two-time winner of the Clarke Award, following up her 1992 win for Synners with her win this year for Fools. At a point in its history where other awards would have still been fumbling about ignoring women, the Clarke Award was enshrining a woman as its first two time winner. Not only that, by 1995 five out of the eight winners over all had been women. To a certain extent this is because the Clarke Award was started in 1987 as opposed to the 1950s or 1960s, but even taking that into consideration the Clarke Award has been exceptionally egalitarian.

Fools by Pat Cadigan

Alien Influences by Kristine Kathryn Rusch
Mother of Storms by John Barnes
North Wind by Gwyneth Jones
Pasquale's Angel by Paul J. McAuley
Towing Jehovah by James Morrow

What Are the Arthur C. Clarke Awards?

Go to previous year's nominees: 1994
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1996

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment