Tuesday, December 31, 1996

1996 Campbell Award Nominees

Location: Campbell Conference Awards Banquet at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas.

Comments: 1996 represents a clear turnaround from 1994, when apparently no science fiction novel was good enough to win the Campbell Award, because in this year the first and the second place novels were both deserving of the top prize. Both Stephen Baxter and Neal Stephenson are brilliant, although very different, writers, and The Time Ships and The Diamond Age are both examples of them at the top of their respective games. Unfortunately for Stephenson, the judges didn't see fit to place his novel in a tie for first place, and Baxter walked away with the trophy.

Best Novel

The Time Ships by Stephen Baxter

Second Place:
The Diamond Age by Neal Stephenson

Third Place:
Chaga (aka Evolution's Shore) by Ian McDonald

Go to previous year's nominees: 1995
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1997

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment