Tuesday, December 31, 1996

1996 Clarke Award Nominees

Location: United Kingdom.

Comments: After an absence of two years, the "runner-up" category returned to the Clarke Awards in 1996. Why? I have no idea. For the most part I have simply given up trying to figure out the rhyme or reason for the ever fluctuating methodologies used by genre awards.

On a more concrete note, 1996 was the year that Paul J. McAuley finally won a Clarke Award. As one of the most prominent British science fiction authors of recent years, he had been nominated multiple times for the award, but until 1996 he had always been a bridesmaid and never the bride.

Fairyland by Paul J. McAuley

The Star Fraction by Ken MacLeod

The Diamond Age by Neal Stephenson
Happy Policeman by Patricia Anthony
The Prestige by Christopher Priest
The Time Ships by Stephen Baxter

What Are the Arthur C. Clarke Awards?

Go to previous year's nominees: 1995
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1997

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment