Tuesday, December 31, 2002

2002 Campbell Award Nominees

Location: Campbell Conference Awards Banquet at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas.

Comments: After years of wildly fluctuating formats for reporting the results of the Campbell Awards, the judges finally decided to catch up to the point that every other major award had been by the 1970s and provide a list of the winner along with all of the shortlisted finalists for the award. The Campbell Awards, unlike other major genre awards, has continued the practice of listing the second and third place finishers (although in a bout of sanity, they listed only the two books tied for first place and the third place finisher as having "placed"), but from this point forward they would also list the nominated novels that didn't place first, second, or third in the voting. And it only took the Campbell Awards until 2002 to do this, arriving at the same point that the Hugos got to in the 1950s.

Best Novel

(tie) The Chronoliths by Robert Charles Wilson
(tie) Terraforming Earth by Jack Williamson

Third Place:
Probability Sun by Nancy Kress

Dark Light by Ken MacLeod
Deepsix by Jack McDevitt
Fallen Dragon by Peter F. Hamilton
Hammerfall by C.J. Cherryh
The House of Dust by Paul Johnston
The Meek by Scott Mackay
Nekropolis by Maureen F. McHugh
Pashazade: The First Arabesk by Jon Courtenay Grimwood
Passage by Connie Willis

Go to previous year's nominees: 2001
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 2003

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment