Saturday, July 9, 2005

2005 Campbell Award Nominees

Location: Campbell Conference Awards Banquet at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas.

Comments: In 2005, the three top finishing novels in the race for the Campbell Award probably could not have been more radically different. Richard Morgan's Market Forces is a vicious deconstruction of capitalism and imperialism. Geoff Ryman's Air is an exploration of how the internet has changed our lives, and how similar technology would change us even more. Finally, Audrey Niffenegger's The Time Traveler's Wife is a romance that deals with the distance experienced by lovers, using time-travel as a metaphor for interpersonal alienation. As a genre, science fiction has splintered, diversifying wildly when compared to its early days of adolescent wish fulfillment and engineering lessons, and this has only improved the genre.

Best Novel

Market Forces by Richard Morgan

Second Place:
Air by Geoff Ryman

Third Place:
The Time Traveler's Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

The Boy Who Would Live Forever by Frederik Pohl
The Child Goddess Louise Marley
City of Pearl by Karen Traviss
Gaudeamus by John Barnes
Newton's Wake by Ken MacLeod
The Plot Against America by Philip Roth
The Rebel by Jack Dann
The Well of Stars by Robert Reed
White Devils by Paul J. McAuley

Go to previous year's nominees: 2004
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 2006

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment