Saturday, May 15, 2010

2010 Nebula Award Nominees

Location: Cocoa Beach, Florida.

Comments: In 2010 the Nebula Award for Best Script was replaced by the Ray Bradbury Award, which, like the Andre Norton Award, the SFWA is careful to explain, is not a Nebula Award. I'm not sure why the SFWA is so very adamant that these award are not Nebula Awards, but the fact remains that despite being selected using the exact same criteria as the Nebula Award, determined using the exact same jury system, and presented at the same award ceremony, the SFWA seems to think it is very important that winners of these awards don't have the cachet of calling themselves Nebula Winners. To be blunt, I find the SFWA's stance on this issue to be more than a little inane. An assessment of these awards makes it pretty clear that they are de facto Nebula Awards, so drawing a hard line de jure to deny that reality seems to serve no real purpose other than to make the SFWA look petty.

Best Novel

The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi

Other Nominees:
Boneshaker by Cherie Priest
The City & the City by China MiƩville
Finch by Jeff VanderMeer
Flesh and Fire by Laura Anne Gilman
The Love We Share Without Knowing by Christopher Barzak

Best Novella

The Women of Nell Gwynne's by Kage Baker

Other Nominees:
Act One by Nancy Kress
Arkfall by Carolyn Ives Gilman
The God Engines by John Scalzi
Shambling Towards Hiroshima by James Morrow
Sublimation Angels by Jason Sanford

Best Novelette

Sinner, Baker, Fabulist, Priest; Red Mask, Black Mask, Gentleman, Beast by Eugie Foster

Other Nominees:
Divining Light by Ted Kosmatka
The Gambler by Paolo Bacigalupi
I Needs Must Part, the Policeman Said by Richard Bowes (reviewed in Fantasy & Science Fiction: Volume 117, No. 5 (December 2009))
A Memory of Wind by Rachel Swirsky
Vinegar Peace, or, the Wrong-Way Used-Adult Orphanage by Michael Bishop

Best Short Story

Spar by Kij Johnson

Other Nominees:
Bridesicle by Will McIntosh
Hooves and the Hovel of Abdel Jameela by Saladin Ahmed
I Remember the Future by Michael A. Burstein
Non-Zero Probabilities by N.K. Jemisin

Ray Bradbury Award

District 9 by Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell

Other Nominees:
Avatar by James Cameron
Coraline by Henry Selick
Moon by Duncan Jones and Nathan Parker
Star Trek by J.J. Abrams
Up by Bob Peterson

Andre Norton Award

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente

Other Nominees:
Ash by Malinda Lo
Eyes Like Stars by Lisa Mantchev
The Hotel Under the Sand by Kage Baker
Ice by Sarah Beth Durst
Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld
When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
Zoe's Tale by John Scalzi

Go to previous year's nominees: 2009
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 2011

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment