Wednesday, April 27, 2011

2011 Clarke Award Nominees

Location: Sci-Fi London at the Apollo Piccadilly Circus in London, United Kingdom.

Comments: One of the most interesting things about the Clarke Award is that it honors works that are first published in the United Kingdom, regardless of the nationality of the author of the work. Many other "national" level awards are aimed at authors of a particular nationality. For example, the Ditmar Awards are only open to authors and other individuals who are from Australia. For the Clarke Award, the national origin of the author is unimportant, so in 2011 it could be won by South African author Lauren Beukes for her novel Zoo City.

Zoo City by Lauren Beukes

Declare by Tim Powers
The Dervish House by Ian McDonald
Generosity: An Enhancement by Richard Powers
Lightborn by Tricia Sullivan
Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness

What Are the Arthur C. Clarke Awards?

Go to previous year's nominees: 2010
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 2012

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment