Friday, April 19, 2019

1944 Retro Hugo Award Finalists (awarded in 2019)

Location: Dublin 2019: An Irish Worldcon in Dublin, Ireland.

Comments: As usual, I will raise my usual objections to the entire concept of the Retro Hugos: (1) They don't have any chance of accurately representing the preferences of the science fiction community of the era they are supposed to represent, and instead are selected by people looking back through mists of both time and nostalgia; and (2) fitting work from a bygone era into categories designed for modern media is a bit like trying to jam a square peg into a round hole. I've raised both of these objections before, and they are no less true now than they were when I first raised them.

To this pair of objections, I will raise yet another: The level of participation in nominating for the Retro Hugos is so low that it is common for several entire categories to be dropped. This year, the glaring absence of the Best Art Book special category from the Retro Hugos is the most obvious example of this fact. When even a special category created specifically for this particular Worldcon is unable to garner enough support to exist as a Retro Hugo category, that is evidence that the Retro Hugos themselves have a problem.

Best Novel

Conjure Wife by Fritz Leiber

Other Finalists:
Earth’s Last Citadel by C.L. Moore and Henry Kuttner
Gather, Darkness! by Fritz Leiber
Das Glasperlenspiel (The Glass Bead Game) by Hermann Hesse
Perelandra by C.S. Lewis
The Weapon Makers by A.E. van Vogt

Best Novella

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Other Finalists:
Attitude by Hal Clement
Clash by Night by C.L. Moore and Henry Kuttner
The Dream-Quest of Unknown Kadath by H.P. Lovecraft
The Magic Bed-Knob; or, How to Become a Witch in Ten Easy Lessons by Mary Norton
We Print the Truth by Anthony Boucher

Best Novelette

Mimsy Were the Borogoves by C.L. Moore and Henry Kuttner

Other Finalists:
Citadel of Lost Ships by Leigh Brackett
The Halfling by Leigh Brackett
The Proud Robot by Henry Kuttner
Symbiotica by Eric Frank Russell
Thieves’ House by Fritz Leiber

Best Short Story

King of the Gray Spaces (aka R is for Rocket) by Ray Bradbury

Other Finalists:
Death Sentence by Isaac Asimov
Doorway into Time by C.L. Moore
Exile by Edmond Hamilton
Q.U.R. by H.H. Holmes
Yours Truly – Jack the Ripper by Robert Bloch

Best Graphic Story

Wonder Woman #5: Battle for Womanhood written by William Moulton Marsden, art by Harry G. Peter

Other Finalists:
Buck Rogers: Martians Invade Jupiter by Philip Nowlan and Dick Calkins
Flash Gordon: Fiery Desert of Mongo by Alex Raymond
Garth by Steve Dowling
Plastic Man #1: The Game of Death by Jack Cole
Le Secret de la Licorne (The Secret of the Unicorn) by Hergé

Best Dramatic Presentation: Long Form

Heaven Can Wait written by Samson Raphaelson

Other Finalists:
Batman written by Victor McLeod, Leslie Swabacker and Harry L. Fraser
Cabin in the Sky written by Joseph Schrank
A Guy Named Joe written by Frederick Hazlitt Brennan and Dalton Trumbo
Münchhausen written by Erich Kästner and Rudolph Erich Raspe
Phantom of the Opera written by Eric Taylor, Samuel Hoffenstein and Hans Jacoby

Best Dramatic Presentation: Short Form

Frankenstein Meets the Wolfman written by Curt Siodmak

Other Finalists:
The Ape Man written by Barney A. Sarecky
Der Fuehrer’s Face story by Joe Grant and Dick Huemer
I Walked With a Zombie written by Curt Siodmak and Ardel Wray
The Seventh Victim written by Charles O’Neal and DeWitt Bodeen
Super-Rabbit written by Tedd Pierce

Best Professional Editor: Short Form

John W. Campbell

Other Finalists:
Oscar J. Friend
Mary Gnaedinger
Dorothy McIlwraith
Raymond A. Palmer
Donald A. Wollheim

Best Professional Artist

Virgil Finlay

Other Finalists:
Hannes Bok
Margaret Brundage
Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
J. Allen St. John
William Timmins

Best Fanzine

Le Zombie edited by Wilson “Bob” Tucker

Other Finalists:
Futurian War Digest edited by J. Michael Rosenblum
Guteto edited by Myrtle R. Douglas
The Phantagraph edited by Donald A. Wollheim
Voice of the Imagi-Nation edited by Jack Erman and Myrtle Douglas
YHOS edited by Art Widner

Best Fan Writer

Forrest J. Ackerman

Other Finalists:
Myrtle Douglas
Jack Speer
Wilson “Bob” Tucker
Art Widner
Donald A. Wollheim

Go to previous year's finalists: 1943 (awarded in 2018)
Go to subsequent year's finalists: 1945 (awarded in 2020)

What Are the Hugo Awards?

1944 Retro Hugo Award Longlist     Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment