Wednesday, December 31, 1997

1997 Campbell Award Nominees

Location: Campbell Conference Awards Banquet at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas.

Comments: Coming in third in 1997, behind McAuley's Fairyland and Robinson's Blue Mars, was Mary Doria Russell's The Sparrow, one of the very few books by women that had even been nominated for the award. Whenever I need to be reminded of the pervasive sexism in the science fiction community, I need look no further than the history of its awards. By 1997, the Campbell Awards had been a going concern for twenty-four years. And in that time, only two women had won the award. Twenty-two men had earned the top honor compared with just a single pair of women. And a female nominee was almost as rare as a female victor. I'm sure that the panels of judges were not consciously discriminating against fiction by women, but the institutional bias is readily apparent.

Best Novel

Fairyland by Paul J. McAuley

Second Place:
Blue Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson

Third Place:
The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell

Go to previous year's nominees: 1996
Go to subsequent year's nominees: 1998

Book Award Reviews     Home

No comments:

Post a Comment